Search

Cash, Traveler's checks or c.c.

Search this Thread

Old Jun 9th, 2004, 11:01 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cash, Traveler's checks or c.c.

Dear Fellow Travelers,
I have been saving cash for about 4 years to get back to Italy. With the Euro being so strong against the dollar; should I exchange it for Euro's here or exchange it for Traveler's checks? Also, I have a VISA but not an ATM (I have never needed one). Can a Credit card do the same transactions in Europe. Forgive this stupidity but I'm so unclear at this point.
Thanks again!
Old Jun 9th, 2004, 11:08 AM

Now you do need an ATM card. Take that cash to a bank and open a checking account. You will always get the best rate of excange by withdrawing Euro from an ATM (about 1% over the official rate). Any transaction involving the exchange of one currency for another (or trav checks) will cost at least 5% over the official rate.

Use "ATM" as a search term to read zillions of messages on this topic. The consensus of these experienced travelers is ATMs.
Old Jun 9th, 2004, 11:10 AM

NO to exchanging money before you travel OR traveller's cheques. Get an ATM card, and use both cash machines and visa on your trip - this way you'll get the best rates for your money. It's also a heck of a lot more convenient.

Credit cards are accepted widely, but you might want to check with smaller hotels and small restaurants, as occasionally you may find one that prefers cash.
Old Jun 9th, 2004, 11:11 AM

Oops, I sent too soon. To continue . . .
Credit cards are widely accepted, but you will still need some cash, and ATMs are the cheapest and easiest way to get it.
Old Jun 9th, 2004, 11:11 AM
ira

Hi Cinzia,

I suggest that you open a checking account and put your travel money into it.

Get an ATM card to go with the account.

Bring this and a credit card with you.

Charge everything you can and use the ATM for cash.

This way you will get the best exchange rate.