Search

Rome secrets

Search this Thread

Old May 5th, 2003, 08:52 AM
RAR
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rome secrets

I'm going to Rome for the second time this weekend. I have seen the big stuff, and this time I want to see the little things that most tourists don't get around to seeing, or don't know about. So I'm looking for people to share their secrets or info tidbits that they may have. Thanks
Old May 5th, 2003, 08:55 AM
RAR
Original Poster

PS it can be anything!
Old May 5th, 2003, 09:12 AM

HI
I'm no Rome expert compared to some, and I doubt these are secrets, but maybe they are new to you, tho' I don't know if they fit your interests:

Basilica di San Clemente, lower basilica, frescoes from the 9th-12th century. Scenes depict Sisinius, a Roman prefect who went to arrest his wife for attending a mass. He and his servants were struck blind, and they tried to carry off a column,mistaking it for his wife. The captioning in Italian makes this one of the earliest comic strips. One of the sentences reads "Go on, you sons of harlots, pull!" Walk down a few levels and you will hear and see the rushing water that once supplied drinking water to ancient Romans.

San Pietro in Montorio: Church has a commanding view of Rome fom the Gianicolo hill, supposedly built on the site of Saint Peter's crucifixion. In the adjoining courtyard of this church is the charming Il Tempietto, a miniature temple/church designed by Bramante. It can hold about 12 standing people.
Old May 5th, 2003, 09:13 AM
GAC

Rome has over 100 churches that are worth visiting. You have probably already seen the most important of these (Vatican, S.M. Maggiore, S.Giovanni in Laterano, S. Paolo Fuori le Mura, etc.). You could now visit the second and third tier churches. A stroll in the Aventino and/or Gianicolo districts would be worthwhile. So too walking through the Villa Borghese Gardens (have you seen its three important museums?)
Old May 5th, 2003, 09:23 AM
RAR
Original Poster