Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Please steer me in the right direction - Rome/Florence 3/27/2010-4/3/2010

Old May 27th, 2009, 09:17 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello. I am new to the Fodor's website and appreciate everyone's suggestions/feedback as I have been lurking. I haven't traveled much and look to do so in the coming years (I am 27 and my husband is 30).
We are planning an Italy trip for 2010 (which my family is now going to be part of and I have been placed in charge of all plans! 3 families/10 ppl altogether). To say I am inexperienced is an understatement but hopefully my control freak tendencies will kick in. Since the hubby is a teacher we are very limited on times of travel - we have decided on 3/27/09 - 4/3/2010 which is Holy Week.
I have a few questions:
1. How crowded is it during Holy Week - similar to peak season months?
2, Are certain areas closed during that week?
3. Advice on the following itinerary:
-Friday 3/26 - fly out of NY arrive in Rome the next morning
-Sat 3/27 - check into Hotel in Rome (TBD) and walk around neighborhood - see the sights (trevi fountain, spanish steps, etc) - get a quick bite to eat and call it a relatively early night
-Sun 3/28 (Palm Sunday) - try to get tix for mass in Vatican City - otherwise go to mass somewhere else in Rome. In the PM go to Galleria Borghese or the catacombs - still need to do additional research here
-Mon 3/29: AM-Vatican City (St. Peter's Basilica, Vatican Museum, Gardens); PM - Pantheon
-Tues 3/30 - AM - visit Ancient Rome (Colosseum/Roman Forum/etc) - catch a late afternoon train to Florence PM: Wander around Florence (Ponte Vecchio/Piazza della Signoria)
-Wed 3/31 - AM The Duomo PM - Accademia
-Thurs 4/1 - Take a side trip someplace (Pisa, Volterra, Lucca - not sure yet)
-Fri4/2- AM - Galleria degli Uffizi PM- TBD
- Sat 4/3 - Fly back home out of Rome