Search

Planning Eastern Europe Trip- advice please

Search this Thread

Old Mar 15th, 2006, 06:45 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Planning Eastern Europe Trip- advice please

Good day,

I am a student in Scotland and am planning a trip to Eastern Europe from around mid-May to mid-June. I am interested in seeing as much as I can but don't want to rush it. I am interested in old cities and architecture especially, in addition to places that have a generally great culture and good food! Right now I am planning on flying into Tampere, Finland.
Day 1: fly into Tampere
Day 2: to Helsinki
Day 3-4: in Helsinki
Day 5: to St Petersburg
Day 6-8: in St Petersburg
Day 9: to Tallinn
Day 10-11: in Tallinn
Day 12: to Riga
Day 13-14: In Riga
Day 15: to Vilnius
Day 16-17: in Vilnius
Day 18: to Warsaw
Day 19-20: in Warsaw
Day 21: Krakow
Day 22-23: in Krakow
Day 24: to Prague
Day 25-26: in Prague
Day 27: to Vienna
Day 28-30: in Vienna
Day 31: to Bratislava
Day 32: in Bratislava
Dat 33: Fly out of Bratislava

I know it is very ambitious to see 9 countries in 33 days. Right now that plan is extremely flexible. I will be travelling by train and bus. Should I spend more time in certain places or should I spend less (Does St. Peters need 3 days to see effectively)? (Is there much to do and see in Tampere)?

I know right now I am just seeing the major cities and capitals; what other smaller cities in these countries or eastern europe would you recommend seeing?

Any feedback, suggestions, or comments from your own personal travels in this area would be highly appreciated. thank you.
Old Mar 15th, 2006, 06:56 AM

Well, I've been to Krakow, Prague & Vienna. This summer we are planning to visit the Baltics. I think you are trying to see way too much and should eliminate some things so you can lengthen your stay in some places. You will spend your entire trip moving around and trying to get oriented.