Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Photography trip: Germany, Austria, and elsewhere

Mar 13th, 2019, 08:04 PM
Original Poster

I'm a travel photographer who normally takes an annual solo trip to Europe. My pictures are sold, licensed, and used as editorials worldwide. (all photos here were taken by me) Unlike the majority of trip reports it's important to remember that while there are certainly many pleasures that come with the job this isn't a vacation for me. That means no tours, museums, operas, shows, etc. This year's trip for May 2018 was a 10 day adventure by car that covered the following areas: Innsbruck, Vipiteno/Sterzing, South Tirol, Stein am Rhein, Bavarian castles, Rothenburg OBT, Wurzburg, Western Czech Republic, and Munich. Special thanks to everyone that helped me in this thread, especially PalenQ and fourfortravel. I couldn't do this without you.

Day 1. I touched down in drizzly Munich around 10 am and picked up my car rental. The plan for day 1 was to get to Innsbruck and photograph anything along the way that made my jaw drop. The traffic was bumper to bumper as the drizzle turned into a steady rain. I was obsessed with the weather prior to the trip and knew the first 4 days would likely be rainy or overcast. There wasn't an awful lot to look but there were a couple of breaks in the rain where I pulled over and began the first of my pictures.