Paris Metro - safe for woman alone?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 11th, 2008, 11:24 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'll be walking around Paris, part of the time by myself, and would like your opinion on this... thanks!
Old Mar 11th, 2008, 11:25 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
It's safe. Just watch your pocketbook or backpack.
Old Mar 11th, 2008, 11:57 AM

I've been using it a lot for over 30 years and have had no problems. However,one of my best male friends, who goes to Paris a lot and is quite street smart, had his money stolen. He had a money pouch, around his neck, and tucked into his shirt, and they still got it off of him...so he lost his money and passport and spent almost the entire day filling forms with the police and over to the American Embassy(?)/Consulate(?) trying to get a new passport...and he speaks fluent French. It was on a day he was to meet me,at my hotel, and never showed up which is totally unlike him so I was VERY worried. So, money belt it and shoulder purse draped across the body...NOT hanging off of one shoulder. If you can, even put it under your coat if you're traveling when it's cool/cold. Happy Travels!
Old Mar 11th, 2008, 07:36 PM

When my husband and I are in Paris together, we prefer the buses to the metro. The stops are much more conveniently located, and you avoid the long hallways and stairways of the metro. On a solo trip, I used the buses almost exclusively. The two times I used the metro (because no night bus stop was nearby), I would have been more comfortable on a bus. And, I've never seen any pickpockets on the metro.

But, I felt perfectly safe walking all over and taking buses late at night.
Old Mar 11th, 2008, 08:02 PM