Reload this Page >

Paris hotels/which district?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 1st, 2001, 03:27 PM
kirsten

We are going to be staying in Paris in July, and have never been there before. Unfortunately, we have to go through our travel agent for hotel in order to get a good deal on the plane tickets (saving $400!). Our 2 hotel choices are the Ibis Paris Cambronne (15th district) and the Hotel Claude Bernard (5th - Latin Quarter). The one in the 5th seems like a better location, but it is $30 more per night. Does anyone know about these districts and if one is better to stay in than the other? Thanks in advance for any help.

Old Feb 1st, 2001, 03:52 PM
Boots

Kirsten, you might look at www.paris.org for comments on the hotels. I used to stay at the Claude Bernard when I was a student at the Sorbonne (nearby), and it was a two star hotel; it is now a three, I believe. The location on the rue des Ecoles, about three blocks south of Saint-Michel is good. I would pay the extra $30 for the location alone. I have not stayed at the Ibis Cambronne, but I have stayed at other Ibis. They would never be a hotel of choice for me, and the location is not nearly as good as the CB. I hope this helps some. Boots

Old Feb 1st, 2001, 04:03 PM
elvira

As a first-timer to Paris, you'll find the 5eme to be more what you came to Paris for. I don't know the Claude Bernard, but the Ibis Cambronne is a little away from the action (it's not in the hinterlands). I've stayed at an Ibis in another part of France, and it's a chain - usually big (gazillion rooms) and not terribly French feeling. I go along with Boots - stay in the 5eme. Make sure the hotel has air conditioning!

Old Feb 1st, 2001, 04:08 PM
Andrea

5th, no contest! The location will be worth the additional expense.

Old Feb 1st, 2001, 05:47 PM
kirsten