Paris apt. 100% rent for security deposit

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 30th, 2007, 01:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Bonjour- I'm just practicing my French. So I'm considering the following apartment rental from Sept. 26th-October 3rd. http://www.paristay.com/paris-apartm...is-louvre.html

So upfront, I have to pay the agency fees of 200 Euro and then I have to pay a security deposit to the owner in the amount of 600 Euro, which is the weekly rental rate. Neither is refundable in the event that I cancel. This is my first time with overseas apartment retnal; is this acceptable? I don't necessarily have an issue with the non-refundable, but I think the deposit is a bit high. If it's standard, let me know and I'll book!
Old Jul 30th, 2007, 01:42 PM

€600 is very typical. In fact, it's what we've paid (though owner waives for repeat guests).

Typically, the agency fee (if there is one), an initial deposit (often 50% or more of total rent) and a significant security deposit are required upon confirmation of booking.

But, the cancellation policies vary tremendously, usually on a sliding scale depending on cancellation date, and cancellation is required one, two, or three months ahead of cancellation for an sort of refund.
Old Jul 30th, 2007, 01:46 PM
ira

Hi S,

Apartment owners take a chance on you not showing up and losing the whole week's booking. That's why you are paying a sizeable non-refundable deposit.

Look for trip insurance that will cover your loss if you can't go.

Old Jul 30th, 2007, 01:48 PM
Original Poster

I'm not really worried about not going. I just want to make sure it's not a scam because it's the equivalent of $1k with the fee and everything.

But if 100% of the rent as a security deposit is acceptable, then I am fine with it.
Old Jul 30th, 2007, 01:51 PM