Paris and Ile-de-France -ready!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 24th, 2004, 01:19 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well, my honey and I leave for eighteen days in Paris tomorrow. My third visit since 1978 and 1984, when I was a student and stayed only two nights each. It will be my honey's first trip to France. We are renting a studio apartment in the 7eme near rue Cler. I'll post the address if it turns out to be as good as I hope.
We plan not to eat out at all! It's a money as well as preference thing... I am a good cook and can make a far better meal for 5 euros than I can buy at a restaurant. I will enjoy shopping for the food every bit as much as I would eating in a restaurant. The markets sound fabulous! Can't wait to hit the Monoprix too! Also, we like parks, the outdoors, bird and people walking, so we will hit as many parks as possible, so picnic lunches will be l'ordre du jour. I found the Michelin Green Guide to Paris to be the best of the travel guides and will use it exclusively for Paris. For the Ile-de-France, just google the individual towns, you'll find everything you need. We will see the major sights in Paris, but not the science museums. Will stick mostly to the Louvre, Orsay, Invalides, Rodin, Cluny, Beaubourg, Cognacq-Jay, Nissim Camondo, Forney library, Hotel Soubise. Will skip Picasso, la Villette. Will do a neighborhood a day for eight days, and then return to our favorites when we have time later in the trip.