Paris 9th arrond. for 1st timer

Aug 29th, 2003, 07:18 AM
Original Poster

Paris 9th arrond. for 1st timer

This is my first time to Paris & I will be staying at the Le Grande Intercontinental. How is the location for walking the city & is the Metro easy to use from here? Also, any tips for getting a train to Chartres? Thank you in advance. RB
Aug 29th, 2003, 07:30 AM
ira

Do you have an address for the Hotel?

You can look it up on www.multimap.com and see where the Metro is.

You can also find directions for using the Metro at http://www.ratp.fr/index_eng.htm
Aug 29th, 2003, 07:55 AM
Original Poster

ira, thanks for the urls. The hotel is 2 rue Scribe, very near the Opera. I have it up on multimap.
Aug 29th, 2003, 08:07 AM

You are near the Opera Garnier and surrounded by several metro stations/lines which can take you to all parts of the city. Each is just a few blocks away. Walk a few more blocks and you are at Place Concorde and the Tuileries gardens/Louvre etc. Good choice!
Aug 29th, 2003, 08:12 AM

[If this double posts I'm sorry, strange things have been happening when I try to post my reply!!]

Hi there
Rue Scribe is quite a decent location, - it's pretty much on the border of the 9th and 1st arrondissements. Nearest metro (Opéra) is a 2 minute walk, and there are also numerous taxi ranks in the area. Many buses also stop at Opéra, so you should find you can go anywhere in Paris fairly easily.

Rue Scribe is the precise drop-off point for the Roissybus, which runs every 15 minutes direct to and from CDG airport, and costs about 8 euros each way. Much cheaper than a taxi!

From rue Scribe, it's a two-minute walk to the main shopping district of Paris along Boulevard Haussman, where you'll find the two grand department stores, Galleries Lafayette and Printemps.