Search

3 Days in Rome - What to do?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 7th, 2013, 05:01 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3 Days in Rome - What to do?

Hi all,

So I am a college student who is currently studying in Valencia, Spain for the semester. I'm going to be taking a weekend trip to Rome from Nov. 30th - Dec. 2nd. I'll be landing around 11:00 on the 30th and leaving around 14:30 on the 2nd. I want to make the most of my time in Rome, so if anyone has any suggestions on what to see, what not to see, how to save time anywhere, that would be wonderful. Also if anyone has suggestions for restaurants that are within a college student's budget those would be appreciated too.

Generally the type of things I like to see are:
- cultural monuments
- ancient ruins
- historical museums
- art museums
- anywhere where handmade objects are sold (ie. in Spain I love hand painted fans and handmade ceramics)

Thank you!
Old Nov 7th, 2013, 05:10 AM

Borghese Gallery - must pre-book tickets. They are timed and you are allowed in for 2 hours. Arrive 30 minutes early to check all belongings.

Visit as many churches as you can as most of them are wonderfully beautiful.
Old Nov 7th, 2013, 05:43 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
way in from the airport Fimuncino is by train. The train to Terminali is obvious one to take but costs more and is faster than the train into the rest of Rome. If you don't need to go to Terminali save the money.
Old Nov 7th, 2013, 07:24 AM

Not a true "sit down" restaurant, but may be within your budget is:

Rosticcerì
Corso Rinascimento 83/85 - Roma
http://www.rosticceri.com/

This is a take-away place, but there are a few stools at a counter area running along a portion of the side of the place. The food there is fantastic, we found the place while on a Rome Street Food Tour, and had the arancini (fried rice balls, may sound odd to you, but they were delicious!) but all the food on offer looked (and smelled) really, really good.