Overnight train from Prague to Budapest

Old May 22nd, 1997, 10:17 PM
Alice Lee

Overnight train from Prague to Budapest

Has anyone ever travelled on an overnight train from Prague to Budapest? I am concerned about safety -- is it safe for two women to travel on an overnight train. Is the train station in Prague okay and how should we travel to the station at night from our hotel?

Old May 26th, 1997, 02:59 PM
jim turner

I traveled by train Prague-Budapest during the daytime. It was an uncomfortable experience. The usual configuration in the cars are 6 seats, 3 facing forward and 3 back. These cars had 8 seats so you were practically sitting on top of the people next to you. Also, the trains traveled very slowly in comparison to other parts of Europe so it took a long time. There is about an hour stop a the border for passport checks as well. I would inquire about sleeper cars. As far as safety is concerned, I have no knowledge of trouble on this route but since it's at night, you would probably make an interesting target to the wrong type of people. Maybe you could find some friends in Prague to keep you company. There are at least 2 major railway stations in Prague. Make sure you know which one your train is leaving from. The safest mode at night would be taxi. If the streets aren't deserted you would probably be safe on the subway. Good luck. jimt

Old May 26th, 1997, 05:04 PM
sasha