Overnight on Brit Rail?

Jun 3rd, 2010, 02:20 PM
Original Poster

Overnight on Brit Rail?

Our family will be living in Glasgow Scotland for a few months this summer - 3 adults, 3 kids. We have purchased Britrail tickets - family pass for 4 days. My granddaughter, a 10 year old, has put in a request. She doesn't want to leave Great Britain without having been on a train, in a sleeper, overnight. Any suggestions on how to accomplish this?
I was hoping we could use two of our Britrail day passes to train from Glasgow to London and out into the countryside - then back to London and overnight it back to Glasgow.

If this is possible, how do I find out about sleeper trains - destinations, stations, etc.

Thanks for the help. I'm the gramma and I'm new to this Travel Board experience.

Lynn
Jun 3rd, 2010, 02:31 PM

Caledonian Sleeper trains | ScotRail
Buy train travel tickets for the ScotRail Caledonian Sleeper Trains, overnight train services operating between London Euston and Scotland.
www.scotrail.co.uk/caledoniansleeper/index.html

Timetables
About the sleeper Seated Sleeper
Map

More results from scotrail.co.uk »
Caledonian Sleeper Train | About the sleeper | ScotRail
Caledonian sleeper facilities include single and twin berth cabins with comfortable beds, blankets and fresh cotton sheets as well as air-conditioning and ...
http://www.scotrail.co.uk/caledonian...e-sleeper.html

The Caledonian Sleepers as they are called - Scotland to London overnight trains (no Saturday night service i believe but nightly otherwise)

I have taken with a pass and you have to pay for the sleeping accommodation of you choice - no six-person compartments i think but adjoining compartments i believe have doors that can be opened