Northern Spain first time

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 23rd, 2005, 12:49 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to this whole process, so your tolerance and help is appreciated. We will be travelling to Spain in March to meet up with our 21 year old daughter who is studying in Granada and has break at that time. She wants to meet in Barcelona and then travel to Bilbao over the course of 9 days. Cities hoping to pass through would be Vitoria-Gasteiz(we are wine lovers) and San Sebastian. Please offer advice on possible itinerary and best way to travel, train vs car in different areas. I don't know how well 4 adults will fit in a car and given the amount of country to cover I thought train might be good for first leg between Barcelona and wine country. I realize this is alot of country to cover, but she and my husband really want to start in Barcelona.
Old Jan 23rd, 2005, 01:15 PM

There is no direct train service between Barcelona and the "wine country", as you put it, of La Rioja Alta and Alavesa (the Basque Country), or between there and Bilbao. You would be best off flying into Bilbao from Barcelona, where you can meet you daughter and pick up a rental car large enough for all four of you and what luggage you're carrying.

If you want to drive from Barcelona to La Rioja Alavesa, it will be a long day. I suggest you either stop in Pamplona for the night (about 5 hours drive from Barcelona) or check out the Parador Sos del Rey Católico, which is about an hour east of Pamplona.

From Pamplona it is only around 1-1/2 hours drive to Laguardia in the Rioja Alavesa.

Bilbao is about a three hour drive north from Laguardia, depending on the route you take.
Old Jan 23rd, 2005, 05:05 PM

Make sure not to miss San Sebastian. The food is incredible! There's a very convenient bus between Bilbao and San Sebastian, no stops, less than two hours. Check out www.maribelsguides.com.
Old Jan 31st, 2005, 11:31 AM