Never traveled abroad before — have one week to get from Derry to Paris

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 24th, 2015, 05:04 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm studying abroad this summer and hope to meet up with a friend after my program ends. However, my program ends on July 25th while hers ends on August 1st. Thus, I have approximately one week to get from Derry to Paris. Once in Paris, my friend and I are going to do some traveling in other countries so I would ideally like to get there a day or two before her program ends.

I have never traveled outside of the United States before (with the exception of Canada), so I really have no clue where to start or how I should plan. I was considering going through Dublin to London and from London to Brussels and then Paris. But again, I really don't have a clue.

So:
Length: one week
Budget: Again, I don't really know what's an appropriate amount for a week of travel. Suggestions would be helpful.
Interests: museums, historical sites, castles, food

While I've done some research already, I don't really think I am completely understanding all that is involved (travel time, time allotted to each location, etc.). I get that this may be frustrating for those of you who take the time to help me out, but if you could kindly provide me with some suggestions of where to go/where not to go, I would greatly appreciate it. I will edit the post as I do more research/get some assistance.

Thanks!

This is what I have been thinking: July 25 — Derry to Dublin, July 26 — stay in Dublin, July 27 — Dublin to London, July 28 — stay in London, July 29 — London to Brussels, July 30 — Brussels to Paris, July 31 — stay in Paris, August 1 — meet friend in Paris before heading to Burgundy (possibly)

What are your opinions on this? When is the best time to leave each day to head to the next location? What should I be considering? Thanks again.
Old Mar 24th, 2015, 05:28 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post