Need More than Barcelona

Old May 10th, 2006, 10:33 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need More than Barcelona

I am a novice traveler taking a 5 day trip to Barcelona as part of a group and will have 3 days after the trip to go anywhere on my own. I could go anywhere within a 4-5 hr. train ride or short flight. We'd actually like to go to France, but aren't sure where to go. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
Old May 10th, 2006, 06:56 PM

When are you going to Barcelona?
Old May 10th, 2006, 07:27 PM

Is this you going solo or are you with someone?

When you say three days do you mean that the tour ends on (for example) Monday and you leave on Wednesday, or that it ends on Monday and you have until Thursday or Friday?

If you want to go to France, you will need to fly, as getting as far as, say, Toulouse or Nice will take you longer than you have specified. I recommend either location, though I prefer the smaller places near Nice.

Were I you, I would go to the Balearic Islands (Mallorca or Menorca, depending on how much the flights or boats cost) and chill out, enjoying nightlife and the beaches.

Really, though, we need more information.
Old May 11th, 2006, 07:26 AM
Original Poster

Sorry for the lack of information.

Going in late January/early February with 5 people. 2 parents in 50s and 3 kids in late 20s/early 30s.

The group portion ends on Thursday, and we aren't planning to come back til Sunday.

Hope this can help with the suggestions.

Thanks!

BTW...how long of a trip is it to Paris?
Old May 11th, 2006, 07:34 AM

You can fly to Paris from BCN on easyjet or from nearby Girona on Ryanair....don't even THINK of trying to get there by rail with your limited timeframe.

Cheap flights BCN to Madrid take 1 hr and 5 minutes.
Old May 11th, 2006, 07:35 AM

Madrid would work well. Madrid is small so 3 days in enough to see the major sights.
Old May 11th, 2006, 01:19 PM