Need help... I'm having doubts!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 19th, 2004, 09:18 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I reserved my ticket to Italy at a really good price for July 30 - Aug. 30. I was planning on going alone to study at a language school in Florence for 2 weeks and a language school in Taormina sicily for 2 weeks. I'm now having doubts and not sure if I want to go through with this. I have not paid for anything yet. I studied for a week in florence last summer, I liked it but felt lonely. I'm scared that the 4 weeks will just turn out to be a dissapointment.
MS
Old Jun 19th, 2004, 09:22 AM

I can understand your fears about traveling alone. I've yet to do so-later this year.
But since you'll be at a language school your daytime hours will be occupied. I looked at a couple of language schools sites a while back and they offer activities and dinners. Does your language school have these options available? Maybe you can inquire if they have.
Old Jun 19th, 2004, 09:23 AM

I've never done anything like what you're proposing so can't really advise. I will mention, though, that another poster, crepes a go go, recently went to France on a language study and was also quite worried about being alone on arrival (in Paris) and just the general idea. She went and had a wonderful time but I think mentioned staying with a family was a good way to avoid loneliness. Is that a possibility for you?
Old Jun 19th, 2004, 09:42 AM

I haven't done this in Italy, but I have studied at language schools in Paris for that long or longer. It sounds like you have paid for the airline ticket, just not the tuition, is that correct? Do you still want to go to Italy, but just aren't sure you want to do language schools for the entire time?