Mykonos Town or Beach?

Search

Mykonos Town or Beach?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 15th, 2007, 05:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mykonos Town or Beach?

Hi All - I am just getting started with my planning for a trip to Greece in June 2008. Can't wait!!

I will be spending 3 nights in Mykonos (the other time split between Crete, Santorini and Athens)...

In Mykonos, would you recommend staying at a hotel/resort in Mykonos town or on the beach??

Currently, a travel agent I've been speaking with has recommended that I stay on the beach in Mykonos...I will be staying in towns in Santorini and Crete (most likely), so she suggested that I spend my time on the beach in Mykonos.

I do like the beach, but I've heard Mykonos town is beautiful and I LOVE windy streets, getting lost in quaint, beautiful towns, etc.

Any suggestions?? If I did stay on the beach, how far is it to town?? Would love some advice from travel "veterans" who have been to Greece. Thanks so much!
Old Dec 15th, 2007, 06:06 PM

We stayed at Grecotel Blu in Mykonos (on the beach) two summers ago, and regretted not being closer to town. Although we weren't far from the bus stop, it was a pain to rely on bus service to get back and forth, and it was nearly impossible to get a taxi when we wanted one. If I were to plan our trip over, I'd definitely opt for staying right in town.
Old Dec 15th, 2007, 07:06 PM

I decided to stay in town based on the recommendations of a friend who lives there. The beaches are nice during the day and can be reached by a good bus service but at night there are more choices for cafes and nightclubs in the main town of Mykonos. I stayed at the Rohari which is far enough from the night club scene to be quiet but close enough to crawl to!

You'll like the maze of streets at night as the stores usually open to midnight with all the alleys lite up.
Old Dec 15th, 2007, 09:23 PM

Hi