Search

My first trip to Europe

Search this Thread

Old Aug 7th, 2015, 11:46 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My first trip to Europe

Hello!
I’m a solo, active, off-the-beaten-path, first time Europe traveler looking to experience the nature and culture of Europe!

My work is sending me to Elspeet, Netherlands to run a retreat for a week September 6-11th. From Elspeet my current plan is to head to Amsterdam for two days, take the train to Paris for two days and fly from Paris to end in Nice for 2 1/2 days before flying out at 6 am Saturday morning September 19th back to Minnesota.
Advice???????

Also I am a jewelry designer and I am hoping to find some vintage/old jewelry and beads at markets my new designs. This is the priority of my trip! Anything like this in the Netherlands? Paris? Nice? In between? What's your advice?? Where should I go for local markets and antiques? Are there any good bead stores, shops craft places in these locations? Are here better countries for this?

I am planning on flying out of Nice because I want to enjoy at least one day doing mostly nothing but relaxing and designing on the beach and Nice seems to be the closest to Paris. Thoughts?

Any thing helps!! Thank you for your time!
Old Aug 7th, 2015, 11:55 AM

Trains - Thalys trains link Amsterdam and Paris in about 3.5 hours but have a tiered fare system - the earlier you buy the cheaper, often dramatically the ticket can be - like 39 euros vs full fare of over 100 euros if you wait until Amsterdam or even more. www.thalys.com is the official site and easy to book on.