Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

musical evenings..which orchestra and venue

Old Aug 9th, 2005, 04:20 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We would like to attend some concerts while in Vienna later this month. Can anyone recommend a particular event or venue to see?
There is a concert by the Wiener Hoburg Orchestra and one by the vienna mozart Orchestra. Any recommendations?
Old Aug 9th, 2005, 06:39 PM

We were there recently and did see the Hofburg orchestra concert. I am a professional musician btw. Though it was well played, and fun to listen to it was not an incredible evening. And only tourists go to those anyway. But my middle school age boys enjoyed it. (they are both in the school orchestra too) We also went to a trumpet and organ concert in a tiny church in the pedestrain area. Players were great, repertoire a bit cheesy, pews extremely uncomfortable! Try to go to the opera if you can. We loved the Haus der Musik. Good luck.
Old Aug 9th, 2005, 07:38 PM

My parents went to the Vienna Mozart Orchestra. It's also totally catered to tourists, but it was a lot of fun and not bad for an evening of entertainment. But I don't think they would have gone if it wasn't at the Musikverein Golden Hall.
Old Aug 10th, 2005, 02:44 AM
Original Poster

Thanks for the tips. I have gathered from reading up that the quality of music is not the best. I guess we will choose according to venue. Unforunatley the Opera does not perform in August!
Old Aug 10th, 2005, 10:07 AM

August is not a good month for performing arts in almost every city (except London and Edinburgh with their festivals). I've been to Vienna in July and thought I'd have lots of choices given its reputation, but there was hardly anything worth going to. I know and listen to classical music a lot, so was interested in regular concerts, not the tourist ones.