Search

Munich in March

Search this Thread

Old Jan 12th, 2014, 10:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Munich in March

Hi guys,

I need some advice on my upcoming trip in March. I'll be going Munich for a conference in March, and am wondering for how long I should be staying there for. Is a week too long? Also, it's my first time to Germany. Any helpful suggestions on where to go from Munich?

Thanks!
Old Jan 13th, 2014, 01:50 AM

A week is not too long for Munich as it will give you time to visit the surrounding area as well.

Are you flying into Munich? Are you planning on renting a car (if yes, can you drive a stick)? Are you on expenses for the whole trip? Budget? Are you into art? History? Food? Beer? Churches? Castles? Hiking?
Old Jan 13th, 2014, 07:28 PM
Original Poster

Thanks sparkchaser!

Yes, I'll be flying into Munich. Doubt I'll be driving there - or do I need to? Not too particular budget wise but hope to learn more about history, arts and glorious good food. Hiking sounds tempting as well but would it be too cold in March? (I'm from the sunny tropics and may be cold-averse!).

I intend on traveling out of Munich for the 2nd week. My travel partner has been to Salzburg and surrounding areas. Any other suggestions on where to go?

Thanks!
Old Jan 13th, 2014, 09:32 PM

The transit system in Munich is quite excellent, so there's really no need to drive.

I think Dachau is a must-see. The weather will be sure to help that place feel even more depressing.

Other Fodorites will have a laundry list of things that are worth visiting in the area.
Old Jan 13th, 2014, 10:45 PM

Yep, Dachau should be on your list. Allow around half a day to visit - can be reached with public transport (train, then bus).

You could do a day trip with a tour company to Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, etc.