Reload this Page >

MOST RECENT FAA ANNOUNCEMENT

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 01:28 PM
Deb

Hi. I'm a Travel Agent and I thought all you Fodorites might be interested in the most recent announcement from the FAA....here you go! <BR> <BR> <BR>The FAA has just released these new security directives for when flights resume: <BR> <BR>1. There will be no curbside check-in nor off-airport checked baggage acceptance <BR> <BR>2. Access through the security checkpoints will be for customers with tickets or ticket confirmations only <BR> <BR>3. Customers with E-Tickets will be required to have a receipt or will have to check-in at the ticket counter in order to gain access to the concourse <BR> <BR>4. Knives of any length or description will no longer be allowed through the security checkpoint <BR> <BR>5. Recommends that customers check-in at least two hours prior to departure for ALL domestic and international flights to cope with substantially increased security measures <BR> <BR>Hope this helps anyone who will be traveling in the near future. <BR>Reagrds, <BR>Deb

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 01:33 PM
Grounded

That's it? You mean, that's the extent of security the FAA thinks is appropriate to remedy the widespread problems in U.S. airport non-security? They're going to ban knives now? <BR> <BR>Oh, come on! This is a bandaid for a serious problem. People, you should be up in arms demanding more security. Open your eyes! <BR>

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 01:39 PM
Deb

Grounded, <BR>As of right now this is what the FAA is saying. No one knows what the future will bring. I believe as you that it just isn't enough and is to little too late........my heart goes out to everyone and everybody who lost someone on Sept. 11th. However I thought that it should be posted where everyone could see it. <BR>Regards, <BR>Deb

Old Sep 12th, 2001, 01:39 PM
M.M.