Miscellaneous Paris Tips

Apr 2nd, 2004, 08:24 AM
Original Poster

Miscellaneous Paris Tips

Let's pass on some tips about Paris...the kind that may not be in the guide books. I'll start:

1. At the Eifel Tower, remember that they sell tickets at more than one "leg." Almost everyone tries to buy tickets at the first leg they come to, which is the same leg if you arrive by metro, RER, or via the Trocadero. If you walk to the opposite leg, the line is almost never as long.

2. Really really think about when you want to visit the Eifel Tower, esp. if you visit on a weekend or the height of "tourist season." We were there on a Wednesday in mid-March, at dusk. There wasn't much of a line to buy tickets or get up, but waiting for the elevators to get down was crowded and stifling. I just can't imagine what it's like in August!

3. I'm no expert, but I gathered over the course of the week that when riding the Metro, you don't need your ticket to get out, but when riding the RER, you need to put your ticket through a machine to get the doors to open to let you out. So don't automatically discard your ticket once you get on, until you get the system down.

4. It's not easy to get take out food in the evening at all locations. We were staying in the 1st Arr. For dinner the first night we thought we'd just bring in some food since everyone was tired. Alas, by very early evening, the bustling market street was a ghost town. I'm sure that's not the case in the Latin Quarter, but plan ahead if you think you want to bring food in at night.

5. The Paris Maps Guide was great. It includes a metro map. Study the city map and the metro map very carefully before you book accomodations. Some hotels are "close to a metro stop", but the metro stop won't get you to very many of the typical tourist places without 2 changes in trains. The distance from a useful metro stop may tip the balance in favor of one hotel vs. the other.