Madrid or Barcelona? Please Help!

Oct 3rd, 1997, 10:59 AM
Amanda

Madrid or Barcelona? Please Help!

Hi! I'm a university student from Toronto who plans on going to Spain to study Spanish between January 4 - April 5. I am trying to decide which city to study in...Madrid or Barcelona? Both Spanish programs are identical, therefore it comes down to which city I want to live in for three months. Everything I have read is very biased. I'd appreciate ANY advice you can give me concerning both cities. Thank you. Gracias.

Oct 4th, 1997, 05:53 PM
Paul Clark-Rayner

Hi,

We spent some time in Barcelona last year and it was great; the buildings are amazing(particularly Gaudi's)and the city has a real buzz about it...the street performers etc. It doesn't get as hot as Madrid..so that is a bonus...rental cars are cheap to hire and it's only a 2 hour drive into the south of France. A great base.

Hope this helps

Paul

Oct 6th, 1997, 02:57 AM
Donato Perez

Quiet and friendly hostal in the center of Madrid
http://www.hotelsearch.com/madrid/dulcinea/
Also apartments
http://simarro.net/apartahotel/Apart...sDulcinea.html

Oct 8th, 1997, 09:29 AM
Maria

I went to both Barcelona and Madrid last October. I
stayed three days in Barcelona and five in Madrid.
Barcelona is the place to go. Next time I go it will be to Barcelona. Barcelona has the conveniences of the big city, with all the charms of
a smaller town. It is a lovely city, and you won't
regret it. Madrid reminded me of New York (not the
better areas of New York). By the way, there is a
seaside town about half an hour from Barcelona called Sitges. Very, very nice. It can be reached by train. Enjoy your stay there.

Oct 8th, 1997, 09:31 AM
Maria

I went to both Barcelona and Madrid last October. I
stayed three days in Barcelona and five in Madrid.
Barcelona is the place to go. Next time I go it will be to Barcelona. Barcelona has the conveniences of the big city, with all the charms of