Madrid and Lisbon in Mid-March

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 21st, 2004, 10:52 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am currently a student in the US and my brother is studying abroad in Germany (we are 21 and 19 respectively). I am meeting him in Madrid on March 9th, where we will spend 2 days. Then, we are going to Lisbon for 3 days, then returning for 3 more days of Madrid. I have booked tickets for a bull fight, and I have found some interesting museums and things to go to. Any suggestions of things that we might enjoy doing during the day? Do they have the Market (El Rastra?) every sunday in Madrid, and if so, is that "good"? Also, I have heard some things about Sintra. Is Sintra worth going to? Are there any beaches that would be easy to reach while in Madrid, and if so, is it worth it during march? Any help with any of this would be greatly appreciated! One more thing--we are on a semi-tight budget. We are more looking for cheap things to do that will be interesting. Thanks a [email protected]
Old Feb 22nd, 2004, 01:28 AM

Meggie, have you already looked at the map of Spain? Of course there are no beaches near Madrid, it's a city in the middle of the big spanish country. And anyway, in the middle of March you might get some very cold weather. Yes, Sintra is definetily worth a visit if you plan to stay 3 nights in Lisbon you should leave one to make a trip to Sintra. Have a nice trip.
Old Feb 22nd, 2004, 01:30 AM

One more thing, as you are young and surely enjoy nightlife, while in Lisbon go to the Docas. Plenty of nightlife there.
Old Feb 22nd, 2004, 02:49 AM

Portugal has some great beaches and you will Be a lot closer to them . It will be a little to cool to go in the water in March You may get a sunny day to sit out !
Old Feb 22nd, 2004, 03:50 AM

I think you need to do a little research upfront and then people will be able to help you with better answers.