Search

Lucca or San Gimignano

Search this Thread

Old Dec 2nd, 2011, 07:49 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lucca or San Gimignano

Hello Fodors Universe,

We are in a bit of a conundrum; to visit either Lucca or SG from Pisa. I have little knowledge of both, but my more well-informed partner has suggested spending a day at SG and Livorno, while I am somewhat more inclined towards Lucca. The trouble is that I think we can only spend one day between these two (or maybe three, considering Livorno) areas, since we have agreed that 2 days should be spent on Pisa itself and Florence. I thus come seeking expert advice on this matter. If it makes a difference, we'll be visiting these areas in about a week.

I would also like to enquire whether you think our plan to travel around Tuscany by train is the best option (we both have railpasses), or whether taking buses may be more advantageous. Neither of us has taken up driving, unfortunately, so that rules that out.

With Thanks in Advance,
Rosencrantz
Old Dec 2nd, 2011, 08:09 AM

buses are the better bet around Tuscany simply because trains do not go to all the proverbial Tuscan hill towns and if they do like Siena they drop you at the bottom of the hill but buses go to near the top. Lucca however has excellent rail service from Pisa - you can take a trian to San Gimi as well but the train station is about six miles away with buses from the station to the hilltown.

Lucca was to me one of the finest medieval-looking walled towns I've seen in Europe.

San Gimi was nice too but not my favroite hill town - I'd take Siena over it though Siena is much larger or the likes of Montepulciano or Volterra.

For lots on trains in Italy check out these fab IMO sites - www.budgeteuropetravel.com; www.seat61.com; www.ricksteves.com.