Long Layover at the Heathrow Airport London

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 19th, 2016, 11:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I'm new to this so and traveling Europe so any help I could get that would be great.

.We land in Heathrow at Oct 11th 7 pm we land at the airport and and leave the next morning at 11:00. we would like to take a look at a few sites if possible in the evening and possibly in the morning. So a few questions:
What time does it get dark?
Is it save to walk around outside the area at night?
What time should we return to the airport in the morning?
How much is it to stay in the Yotelair per hr or is it cheaper to stay at a hotel cost between $120 and $150.00
One last question will we have to collect our bags from or will they just be put on the next flight in the morning?

Oh also suggestion of good, and safe pubs for food and breakfast.

Thanks for the help.

Evelyn
Old Sep 19th, 2016, 12:03 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Your biggest problem isn't safety - anywhere in central London is safe.

Your problem is the actual times you land and depart. If you landed earlier in the day it would make a HUGE difference.

But with a 7PM arrival you really wouldn't be in central London until between 9 and 10PM. If you stayed in a London hotel -- you'd have to be checked out and on your way back out to the airport by 7 or 8 AM.

If you decide to stay at a hotel near the airport, you'd have to either go to the hotel and check in or leave your carry ons at Left Luggage and then travel into London so you'd get to town even later.

So unfortunately -- it doesn't work out very well.