London / Paris in January / February

Apr 21st, 2007, 07:25 PM
Original Poster

London / Paris in January / February

Boss denied request to take 2 weeks this fall (late October- first two weeks of November-ish, around our wedding anniversary) for first-time trip to England and France. Suggested we go in January or February instead, when things at work are slower. Yippee and freezing in Western Europe. Lovely.

Would you recommend continuing our plans and go in January (Feb isn't real likely- work starts to pick up again in Feb.)? Have you vacationed in London/ Paris in January?

It's my first time,
Apr 21st, 2007, 07:26 PM
Original Poster

sorry-- accidentally hit post--

first time. Should we still go to Europe or try for somewhere else on our "list" this winter instead?

Many thanks,

L
Apr 21st, 2007, 07:37 PM

London and Paris are 12 month a year destinations. You can have a great winter visit to either or both. (Nov. can be cold in both places BTW)

And airfares can be 1/2 what they are in Oct . . .
Apr 21st, 2007, 07:45 PM

I'm having a hard time identifying with an employer who controls the weeks you can take for vacation. I mean I can understand if you're a tax accountant and you want the middle of April, or a department store Santa and you want the week after Thanksgiving, but how busy is your job that there is no time in late October or early November when they can't do without you -- especially with six months notice?

Being from Florida, I would NOT like two weeks for a first trip to England and France in January. Frankly early November wouldn't be my first choice either, but it's sure more likely to be better than January.
Apr 21st, 2007, 08:35 PM

Bad bad boss... Seriously, it does seem more than a little unkind to force you to take your vacation in Jan/Feb.

Anyway, I went to Paris and London last Feb. Weather was drizzly both places, temperature cool but not freezing (maybe 50-55F or so during the day, as I remember).
Apr 22nd, 2007, 12:50 AM