Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

London - need help with hotel and restaurant!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 8th, 2004, 03:52 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone

This is my first time posting here, so forgive any mistakes!!

I live in N Ireland, and my husband and I are going to London next weekend. It's a spur of the moment decision!

I have been give a budget of £1,000 for the whole weekend, for meals, flights, hotels and drinks! Basically my husband cant be bothered organising it and I love arranging weekends away so he's leaving it all up to me!!

We arrive late on Friday night and leave on Sunday. I would like a hotel that is kind of trendy and cool, and very central for walking to shops/restaurants pubs. A 4 star if possible.

I would also appreciate a reommendation for a restaurant for the Saturday night as well. Somewhere with a 'wine bar' trendy atmosphere rather than a posh restaurant. Somewhere we could stay on for a few drinks afterwards and maybe walk to another few pubs after as well.

I hope someone can help me make a start on my plans!!

Thank you in advance.

Ireland!
Old Nov 8th, 2004, 03:54 AM
Original Poster

I just thought it might be helpful to mention that the last time I went to London I ate in the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, and thats the kind of atmosphere I'd like - it was excellent food but in a trendy setting with a cool bar for drinks afterwards. I'm thinking of something similar to that.

Thanks

Ireland
Old Nov 8th, 2004, 04:20 AM

Great budget!

Go rynair or easyjet and save the money for the hotel.

For trendy, cool and central, The Covent Garden Hotel or One Aldwych would suit your hotel choice (both also have very nice bars). These should just about suit yor budget, leaving room for that meal and those bars!

http://www.onealdwych.co.uk/index2.html
http://www.firmdale.com/covent.html