London logistics questions

Mar 2nd, 2017, 01:06 PM
Original Poster

London logistics questions

Hi all - I'm no London newbie, but my upcoming trip has some new and fun logistical twists, so I thought I'd seek other expert opinions. "We" are three women, mid-30s, highly mobile, and pack light.

We bought round trip tickets from the US during a fare sale last fall; our entire trip is a week. However, because we've all been to London before (two of us quite a few times), we're taking an EasyJet flight to Seville for a few days in the middle of the week.

We land at Heathrow on a Saturday and are staying at a flat near Southwark station for our first two nights. We then fly to Seville from Gatwick at noon on Monday. Here's the really fun part: For the second part of our London stay, we'll be staying in a flat near St Pancras/Bloomsbury. Because our Seville flight is on EasyJet, we'll be taking even less luggage to Seville. I was thinking we'd go from our flat near Southwark to St Pancras, leave our (relatively) large suitcases at left luggage, then take the Thameslink to Gatwick (~an hour), so that when we come back we'll take the Thameslink again, pick up our bags and be close to our second flat. First off - anyone have a better plan?

Second - to be at the airport by around 10 for our 12:00 flight, we'll need to be on the Thameslink by 9. How much time would you allow to get from Southwark to St Pancras, deal with left luggage and find the train? I'm thinking we'll walk to Waterloo for the Northern line, change to Piccadilly at Leicester Square and take that to St Pancras, but definitely open to better suggestions.

Bonus points: We land at 6:45am Saturday, but won't be able to check into our flat until 11:30 or 12. If anyone has any suggestions for whether to have a leisurely breakfast/brunch with our luggage (one carryon suitcase + extra tote each) around the Waterloo/Southwark area, that would be excellent.

Thanks in advance!
Mar 2nd, 2017, 01:14 PM