London for work Paris for play!

Old Jun 30th, 2015, 09:43 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
London for work Paris for play!

Will be flying out of Logan. I have meetings near Regent St in London. Could you suggest a nice hotel that's walking distance? Then plan to fly to Paris after or is train better? Last minute trip and it's my first time. Thanks!
Old Jun 30th, 2015, 10:27 PM

booking.com

if the ferry strikes don't disrupt things, train is the better option.
Old Jun 30th, 2015, 11:09 PM

If you're in central London, no contest, the train: but for (as menachem says) the current agitation by French workers for the ferry company that Eurostar has just sold and which is now facing lay-offs. That can't go on for ever, though.
Old Jul 1st, 2015, 05:30 AM

Nice hotels within walking distance of Regent Street;

Hotel Cafe Royal - which is at the bottom of Regent Street

The Langham - which is at the top (actually on Portland Place if folk want to nit-pick)

Both very nice and with prices to match.

I'd agree with the other posters saying to take the train.

I'd also say that if you wanted to do some serious playing (rather than just visit Paris) London is by far the better of the two cities for this, so make sure it's not all work and no play whilst you're in London!
Old Jul 1st, 2015, 05:36 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Can't suggest hotels w/o knowing your budget.

When are you traveling? Eurostar is beast hands down. But seriously I wouldn't use it now due to all the disruption in Calais. If you trip is in the next week or two -- I'd probably fly just to be sure.
Old Jul 1st, 2015, 07:27 AM
Original Poster

Hello everyone and thank you. Jay_G those hotels look very nice. My budget is roughly $400. Will be there end of the month. So the train is better but given current situation flight is best bet? Could you enlighten me with the status right now and what I might encounter while there? I'll have 9 days total and was only planning to use 2 in London.