Liquor Laws in Europe?

Old Sep 18th, 2006, 03:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Liquor Laws in Europe?

What are the liquor laws in Europe, if any? If I were to purchase a bottle of wine/cup of beer in a market, would I be able to drink it while eating a picnic outdoors?
Old Sep 18th, 2006, 03:18 PM
P_M

Europe consists of a few dozen countries, which one are you asking about? To the best of my knowledge there's no law against having beer or wine at a picnic, but I don't know of very many places worldwide where that would be illegal.
Old Sep 18th, 2006, 03:36 PM
Original Poster

Specifically Italy. I would very much like to make meals out of various items from a market (i.e. cheese, bread, produce and wine) and then take my picnic to a pretty vantage point. Would I be able to consume my wine with my picnic outside?
Old Sep 18th, 2006, 03:37 PM
P_M

I'm no legal expert, but all I can say is that I've done it before and nobody seemed to notice or care.

Most of our European posters are asleep by now, but if you don't get an answer tonight, you might want to top this thread in the morning.
Old Sep 18th, 2006, 03:37 PM
rex

It sounds like you are you are using the terms "liquor laws" and "licensing regulations" interchangeably, and they are very much not interchangeable in many places in the US, and probably not so different in most of the countries of Europe.