Leaving for Paris in a week!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 24th, 2005, 06:21 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I can't believe I'm going to Paris! I'm leaving on March 4th for six days with my husband and I'm absolutely thrilled! As I am a poor grad student (this is my graduation present from my hubby) we purchased this fabulous travel package for $500 a person that included airfare and hotel accomidations. Granted, I understand we aren't staying in the most pleasant of areas (10th arrondisment in TimHotel Gare du Nord) but I don't imagine we will be hanging out at our hotel anyway.
Anyway, any last minute tips will be appreciated. We are poor souls who will be penny-pinching the entire time, but I'm sure we can enjoy the trip just the same. We'll be there the first Sunday of the month, so we're hitting some of the free places. We're going to purchase the 3-day museum pass and the carte d'orange for the Metro (I'm pregnant and can't imagine I'll be walking long distances). Some specific questions:
1. Tips on some good wines to purchase? My parents want us to bring back some- they love dry and we love sweet.
2. Any yummy inexpensive resteraunts we should hit? I imagine we'll have a lot of picnics and eat from vendors, but we'll be there over our anniversary and it would be nice to have one good sit down dinner.
3. How imperitive is it to be well-versed in French? I know some, but my husband knows "Parlez-vous anglais" and that's about it. I'm having nightmares about not being able to communicate!

Wish us luck!

Rachel
Old Feb 24th, 2005, 06:24 AM
Original Poster

Additional question: Oh, and I forgot. My husband is enthralled with Jazz right now. (we watched 'the terminal' and he's all excited about trying the find that gentleman at the Charles de Gualle airport). Anyway, know any good classic jazz clubs without expensive cover charges?
Old Feb 24th, 2005, 07:09 AM