Reload this Page >

Italy--We need advice!! (thanks!)

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 26th, 2001, 04:47 AM
Lori

We're planning a second honeymoon in June--2 weeks in Italy, and we're thinking Rome, Florence, Amalfi, Sicily. And we need an education!! Our travel agent recommends the Minotel hotel voucher system, but I don't think we want to be locked in to solely Minotels. Anyone know much about that? Also, we want to do it on our own (no coach tours, etc.) so we're thinking a Flexi-rail pass and then trust our resourcefulness. Does this sound like a good plan? Thanks so much for your input! We're so excited!!

Old Jan 26th, 2001, 05:03 AM
Santa Chiara

I have no experience with Minotel, but I would strongly recommend againtst the voucher system. I used such a system in Spain many years ago--and this was for four and five star hotels--and some of the hotels didn't want to take the vouchers, even though they were ostensibly part of the program. <BR> <BR>If you want to be truly independent, book the hotels yourself through sites such as venere.it and travelnow.com. <BR> <BR>Also, I think your plan is too ambitious. I would not include Sicily, or go only to Sicily with perhaps a few days in Rome on arrival and departure. <BR> <BR>Whatever you decide, have a great time in Italy.

Old Jan 26th, 2001, 05:19 AM
Maira