Italy Itinerary - advice?

Old Mar 22nd, 2006, 02:38 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Italy Itinerary - advice?

Hi all,

Husband and I plan on a Spring 2007 trip to Italy - 16 days including travel days from San Francisco. He's never been. I've been probably a dozen times including a year abroad in Florence. I haven't been to anyplace in Italy except Florence since '99 and I want him to see as much as possible anyway. He's ok with hectic but is this too hectic? I wanted to take him to Cinqueterre but is it too far out of the way, considering we'll be taking the train from place to place? When I was living there, we were traveling on the weekends, not to mention I was a student with no standards, so we'd do as much as possible. Times have changed a bit for both of us!

Fly into Rome
5 nights Rome
1 night Assisi
4 nights Florence (with a day trip to Lucca to see the family and a day trip to see Siena and San Gemignano if we want)
1 night Cinqueterre
3 nights Venice
Fly home from Venice

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

Dana
Old Mar 22nd, 2006, 02:49 PM

Hi stellamarina, you will be going the opposite way of Venice if you go to CinqueTerre. And you will have a long train trip to get to Venice, think it is something like 7 hours. It would sure eat up a lot of your travel time. I personally would skip going to CT this trip. I would take that extra night and either add it to Venice or stay one night in Bologna while travelling on the train from Florence to Venice. Have a wonderful time!!
Old Mar 22nd, 2006, 02:52 PM

CT seems pretty out of the way to go for just 1 night.
Old Mar 22nd, 2006, 04:28 PM

I agree with previous posters re CT.