Is montparnasse to far out?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 19th, 2007, 03:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am travelling to Paris SOLO in mid June. Trying to decide on hotels very overwhelming! I think I have it narrowed down to two and would like opinions.
Apollon Montparnasse
91 rue de l'Ouest in the 14th. this one is my fav. but don't want to be stick in suburbia with nothing to do.
and the
Hotel De L'exposition Tour Eiffel
42 Bis Rue Du Theatre in the upper 15th.(the tower is less than a km away).

I am new to solo travel but am feeling very brave(divorce will do that to you). I have never been to Europe. Any advice would be great.
Thanks
Old Apr 19th, 2007, 04:07 PM

if i remember correctly montparnasse is a 15-20 min metro ride from the lourve. certainly not the closest but not the furest either. i thought montparnasse was beautiful btw have fun! theres a great restaurant in paris... bistrot cote de mer on the southern bank... hrmmm i have to thnk of the st name but you can google it. its my fave in the world.
Old Apr 19th, 2007, 04:13 PM

I love Montparnasse and it is a large metro stop so nothing is too far away. I could be wrong but I am assuming that the hotel will cost less there than near Tour Eiffel as well. A lot of wonderful local bistros and cafes in the area. We stayed in that area the last time we were in Paris and loved it.
Old Apr 19th, 2007, 04:20 PM

Type the address in the Google search function and specify that you want the map. That will show you where the address is located in Paris. You are within the city, and if anything, it is the complexity of the Montparnasse métro station that might at first be forbidding.
Old Apr 19th, 2007, 05:45 PM
Original Poster