Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Ireland in 10 days- Itinerary feedback needed

Jan 9th, 2010, 02:31 PM
Original Poster

This is my first time posting anything on Fodors. My husband and I will be traveling to Ireland May 19-May30th 2010. We have already purchased our tickets and are flying in and out of Dublin. I think I have our itinerary figured out thanks to reading alot of other threads on this webiste. I just want to make sure that my plans are not unreasonable. My husband and I are both thirty. We enjoy good food and pubs. Generally we cram too much into our travel plans, so I am determined to not rush Ireland....but I want to see as much as possible.

May 20 Fly into Dublin early morning
May 21 Dublin
May 22 Drive thru Glendalough to Kilkenny
May 23 Rock of Cashel to Kenmare (I know this is going to be a long drive)
May 24 Kenmare
May 25 Ring of Beara to Dingle
May 26 Dingle, Slea Head
May 27 Ferry over River Shannon, Cliffs of Moher, Burren; stay in Doolin
May 28 Aran Islands, stay in Clifden
May 29 Galway , spend last night in Athlone
May 30 Afternoon flight out of Dublin

I have a couple questions about this itinerary. First, do any of these day sound too hectic?
Also, would it be better to make Connemara a day trip from Galway and not spend the night in Clifden?

I know that there is really nothing for a tourist Athlone, but my flight leaves at out of Dublin in the early afternoon on May 30th, and I would rather arrive at the airport with plenty of time to spare. I welcome any and all feedback!
Jan 9th, 2010, 02:42 PM

You'll be moving quickly, but not too quickly (if you ask me). The major change I would suggest is flying out of Shannon if at all possible. That would save you a long driving day at the end of your trip, and save stress about getting to Dublin in time for your flight. I don't know what the change fees are for your tickets, but if it's not exorbitant, to me it would be worth it.