Reload this Page >

Info. on Anne Frank's house

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 23rd, 2001, 07:02 AM
don't know

Going to Amsterdam with 2 teenagers and would like to know the location of the museum, fee and overall if its recomendable. My teenagers and I would really appreaciate your help. Thanks

Old Mar 23rd, 2001, 07:12 AM
mimi

We visited the Anne Frank home and found it a very moving experience. As a teacher, I would say your children must read the book before they go. The museum is very tiny, and you must read the placards on the walls. It will not take you very long but it will make you understand one person's life in hiding. The museum is very easy to find, on a major canal, not far from the Dam section and the railroad station. Any map the hotel gives you will highlight it.

Old Mar 23rd, 2001, 07:15 AM
Tammy

I recommend getting a good map of Amsterdam before leaving, Streetwise has come in handy for me for other cities and I'm pretty sure they have one for Amsterdam. A good map will tell you exactly where the Anne Frank house is located (it is centrally located and within walking distance of lots of the main sites. It has been 4 years since I visited Amsterdam, so I don't know the cost, but many tour guides will give you the estimated price (Fodors, Frommers, Rick Steves, etc.) Regarding is it recommendable, YES! In my opinion, it is one of the must sees in Amsterdam.

Old Mar 23rd, 2001, 07:31 AM
ilisa

The house is located on Prinsengracht. I don't remember the fee, but whatever it was, it was worth it. I highly recommend the house. No movie or book will convey how small the living space was or the conditions under which the families lived. What moved me even more than the sight of the bookcase, were the pictures on the walls. Anne was a typical teenager with interests in movie stars. As a result, she hung their pictures on the walls. Those pictures still hang (preserved by plexiglass). Seeing them gave me chills.

Old Mar 23rd, 2001, 07:32 AM