Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

How did you Plan a Trip BEFORE the Internet?

May 22nd, 2002, 01:05 AM
travelingal

I'm a student and have been traveling for about eight years now. Since the advent of the internet I plan trips COMPLETELY from my computer.(couldn't even do that in the mid-nineties!)
Whatever did we do before this fabulous invention!?!

May 22nd, 2002, 01:17 AM
JohnQ

I would buy my plane ticket, buy a michelan guide, and do the 'fly by the seat of your pants' thing.
Now that I'm older I much prefer to know where I will be sleeping at night and god knows I can do without the aggravation of searching out a decent hotel after I have journeyed all day to wherever I'm going.

The internet is/was a godsend!

May 22nd, 2002, 02:43 AM
meira

We had books, you know....
I still use them but - I do use all the advise I can get on this forum. It adds a lot of other bits & pieces of small little things which are not at all in the books.

May 22nd, 2002, 03:22 AM
Myer

Guide Books, telephone and mail (even before fax).

May 22nd, 2002, 06:03 AM
Rex

Books: Rick Steves, Karen Brown, fodors and Frommers, Europe's Wonderful Little Hotels and Inns; a lot of faxes and telephone calls, and National Tourist Offices.

Best wishes,

Rex

May 22nd, 2002, 06:08 AM
kate

Guide books.When we were going to London the first time, we went to the British Tourist offices in NYC and got loads of brochures and books from them for free! The hotels would send brochures so we could look at pictures and decide on which one.It was fun,just not as immediate.

May 22nd, 2002, 06:22 AM
alison

Use a travel agent. Good thing for the internet because it's difficult to find a competent travel agent nowadays.

May 22nd, 2002, 06:26 AM
elvira