Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Help with Planning Portugal Road Trip (18-19 days)

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 30th, 2023, 06:40 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a solo traveler planning to go to Portugal (for the first time) for just under 3 weeks, leaving during the last week in September or in early October. I'd very much appreciate feedback that any of you can offer on my proposed itinerary.

A little about myself: I am a solo traveler who has been to Europe many times and done similar length road trips in a variety of countries, including Ireland, France, Spain, Italy, Germany and Austria, Norway, where some of the roads can be mountainous and very narrow. As an amateur photographer, I like visiting places that are "photo-worthy" even if there is no particular point of interest. For that reason, when I drive from Point A to Point B, I sometimes take the fastest route but I may also take the backroads to stop in smaller towns and scenic areas. I also like visiting places that have historic significance, including Jewish history (that is one of the reasons I have included Castelo da Vide, Belmonte, Trancoso and Tomar). I also don't object to one-night stays, which I feel are sometimes more convenient than staying in one "base" and backtracking there each night. Finally, I like to keep busy. I am retired so my vacations are not meant to be a relaxing break from work. I purposely left off the Algarve because I don't want to spend time on the beach and I think I would find the mountain towns near the Spanish border much more interesting and less touristy.

So here is my draft itinerary with a few questions and comments:

Day 1: Arrive in Lisbon after flying from US. If time permits, try to see a little bit of the city after I arrive (e.g., walking tour) before getting to bed early.