Search

Help with Itinerary for Switzerland - May-June

Search this Thread

Old Mar 23rd, 2009, 08:03 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with Itinerary for Switzerland - May-June

Hello,

I am planning a trip of approximately two weeks in Switzerland. I plan to leave the US on Memorial Day (Monday, May 25, 2009). I plan to travel mainly by car, either picking up the car when I leave Zurich or when I leave Lucerne.

Here are my tentative thoughts:

1 night: on the plane en route to Switzerland
1-2 nights: Zurich
2 nights: Lucerne
3 nights: Berner Oberland (preferably Lauterbrunnen)
1 night: Bern
1 night: Montreux
1 night: Zermatt or nearby
2 nights: Ascona, Locarno or Lugano
1 night: Engadines
1 night: Appenzell or St Gallen
1 night: Zurich (for flight back to US the following morning)

By the way, I am an amateur photographer and like the freedom I have with a car to stop wherever I please and follow my own schedule.

Opinions and suggestions are welcome. I plan on making hotel reservations for the first few nights because I know where I'll be, but after that, I'd like to stay flexible. Do you think I'll have any difficulty finding places to stay at this time of year? Also, would one night (rather than two) suffice for the initial visit to Zurich? If the plane arrives on time, I'd have about 1/2 a day on Tuesday and most of the day on Wednesday for sightseeing (assuming I left for Lucerne late in the afternoon).

Thanks fellow travelers for your help and suggestions.
Old Mar 23rd, 2009, 09:03 AM

I'd not spend more than the first night in Zurich until returning to leave. I suggest you use that extra night for some of the other magical places down the road. If you are not too picky, you can probably find accommodations without advance reservations, but you might want to make a reservation for your return to Zurich. I tend to make reservations for one reason only: to avoid the time wasted in looking for a place to stay.