Help regarding Central Europe itinerary

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14th, 2019, 06:46 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi again. I'm a fast paced travel photographer for those that don't know me. In September 2019 I'll be taking my annual photo trip in Europe. The 2018 trip was mostly through Germany, Alpine country, and surrounding areas by car. (trip report to come) This time I'll be photographing cities only and traveling exclusively by train (or bus if it makes sense). 11 days 3 countries. I have flights booked into Berlin and out of Budapest. These are the places I plan on covering:

Berlin (100%)
Dresden (100%)
Prague (100%)
Vienna (50% maybe)
Budapest (100%)

So far I have a skeleton itinerary that looks something like this:

Day 1. Flight from US
Day 2. Arrive Berlin
Day 3. Berlin
Day 4. Berlin
Day 5. train to Prague
Day 6. Prague
Day 7. Prague
Day 8. train to Budapest
Day 9. Budapest
Day 10. Budapest
Day 11. Flight home

So my questions:
- Where to insert Dresden and maybe Vienna? I'm not interested in staying in either city and would prefer to cover the highlights in a full day + travel time.
- I read somewhere that it may actually be better to visit Dresden while in Prague as opposed to Berlin. Another website suggested Dresden as a stopover en route to Prague. Which is better?
- Are there any legs in which a bus would be more advantageous than train? (saving money is not a priority)
- Thoughts on a sleeper train possibly to Budapest?

Vienna is the one city I may eliminate completely for a variety of reasons such as foul weather, travel logistics, or unforeseen issues, etc. My biggest priority is minimizing travel time and that's why I'm here. I also want to remind you that I won't be on vacation so no museums, palace tours, or things like that. While I definitely appreciate the advice I'll receive, subtracting cities or adding days is not something I'm looking for help with. Thank you!