Help Planning a Europe Backpacking Trip

Mar 8th, 2013, 07:20 AM
Original Poster

Help Planning a Europe Backpacking Trip

So I've been working on a trip to Europe for some time now, but I feel like I can really use the help of a few more experienced people since this is my first time doing so. I'm planning on visiting 16 cities (10 countries) over a 43 day period, with most of the traveling between cities being done overnight. What I'm trying to decide on is how many days I should spend in each city and if I should eliminate any cities in order to extend my stay in other cities. I'm using days not nights, since it makes more sense to me. This is my plan so far, in order of cities I'll be visiting:

Fly from Toronto to Lisbon
Lisbon - 3 days
Madrid - 3 days
Barcelona - 3 days
Nice - 1 day (just as a stop over on the way to Milan)
Milan - 2 days (maybe a day trip to Genoa)
Florence - 3 days (and Pisa)
Rome - 4 days (and Vatican city)
Venice - 2 days
Budapest - 3 days
Vienna - 3 days
Prague - 3 days
Berlin - 3 days
Amsterdam - 2 days
Brussels - 2 days
Paris - 4 days
Fly from Paris to Porto
Porto - 2 days
Bus from Porto to Lisbon and fly to Toronto

So what are your thoughts on this plan? If I had to prioritize my trip, I'd say Brussels, Amsterdam and Berlin are probably cities I can skip on, though I'd like to see Berlin as well.

Thanks in advance.
Mar 8th, 2013, 07:29 AM

Others can talk about their favorite cities, but you have far too few days for Paris, and not enough for Amsterdam or Venice.

Part of the fun (call it what you like) of a trip is to get out of a city and see what the local folks are like.

Your trip sounds like one of my mother's tour groups she goes on "we saw everything, sort of".

In the period of time you've got, pretty soon every city will begin to seem like a blur.
Mar 8th, 2013, 07:36 AM

Seeing less is often seeing more. Cut down your itinerary by half.