Help me choose a Paris hotel

Jun 14th, 2009, 10:12 AM
Original Poster

Help me choose a Paris hotel

My husband and I will be spending 4 nights in Pairis in late July and early August.
Here are the choices. I'd appreciate your opinions and any other hotel you may suggest as a consideration.

Hotel des Academies et de Arts
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel de Sers
Hotel Aubusson (the most expensive choice)

Thanks for your help .....
Jun 14th, 2009, 11:51 AM

We just recently discovered http://www.hotel-grandes-ecoles.com/ and thought it was terrific.
Jun 14th, 2009, 12:47 PM
Original Poster

Thank you for your suggestion. I'll check it out.
Jun 14th, 2009, 12:58 PM

I am by no means an expert, but after 6 trips to Paris here are my thoughts.

Hotel de Sers----we're not that fond of the right bank except near The Seine. Champs E. far too commercial, not the quaint neighborhood feel of the Left Bank.

Hotel Luxembourg Parc----we have stayed in the area of Montparnasse & Raspail and loved it. There are great restaurants and close to Lux. Park. The downside is that it is far from the river and most of the sites.

Hotel Aubusson----gorgeous, on the other side of Lux.Park from the river, but not too bad a walk.

Hotel des Academies et de Arts----A great neighborhood near The Pantheon and it looks so cute, I'm bookmarking it. But again, a far walk to St. Germain and the river.

Everyone has their favorite neighborhood in Paris and ours just happens to be around St. Germain, and close to the river for convenience. For the last few years we now rent an apartment on I'le St. Louis.