Help! First time traveller to UK

Nov 3rd, 2009, 06:47 PM
Original Poster

Help! First time traveller to UK

I am planning a trip to UK in Nov/Dec. I am a complete novice with no idea whatsoever of what would be the things to do and see in the UK. I am adventurous by nature and not easily fazed by unexpected situations. That said, I would appreciate a few pointers on where to stay, what to see. I plan on doing it on a low to very low budget.
Nov 3rd, 2009, 06:56 PM

How much time do you have (3 nights is entirely different from 18 nights)? What do you consider low budget (everyone has a different persepective on this one)? Do you already have flights booked? Are you traveling alone? Do you have any interests... i.e. art, plays, opera, museums, hiking, churches/cathedrals, misc history, etc? What drew you to the UK in the first place? Are you comfortable driving in the UK?

We need a bit more information to help point you in the right direction.

I loved London and plan to return after Christmas. The Tower, Westminster Abbey and St Paul's Cathedral are a few of my favorites in London. There are tons of museums, art galleries, operas and plays, if that's something you're interested in.

When I was in Scotland, I absolutely fell in love with the scenery and the people. Everywhere I went throughout the UK the people were wonderfully friendly. Loch Ness was amazing, but in November/December that's likely to be a different story with the weather.

Give us a bit more information and we can try to help.
Nov 3rd, 2009, 07:11 PM

Get a guidebook.
Nov 3rd, 2009, 07:19 PM

If you can not afford a guidebook (you shouldn't be going) go to your local library and check out some books, travel dvd, etc. to get a feel for what you might want to do and see. Do your homework first, and then come back with some specific question we can respond to.