Help:First time to germany.

Old Jan 30th, 2001, 04:54 PM
kin

Help:First time to germany.

hey,
this is the first time i'll be going to germany. i'll be staying in north germany for about ten days and then in south germany for about two months. i am a student (will be doing internship in some company there) and so i have a limited budget. so i ned advice on what places i should go to (in the north and in the south).
kin

Old Jan 30th, 2001, 05:02 PM
Thyra

You can do a search on this website under Germany, but I think you'd be better off going out and getting a copy of Let's Go Europe 2001 (I think they even have a let's go Germany) that is targeted to students and backpackers. Also check out Lonelyplanet website which, though kind of troll filled, can give some great advice for students and back packers. Be sure you get a student ID and plan to stay in hostels, which are a great source of information in and of themselves, by way of the people you'll meet.

Old Jan 30th, 2001, 05:40 PM
kin

thanks thyra,
i'll try to get a copy of lets go europe or germany 2001... whatever...
so you think i should stay in hostels . .i was thinking about that myself but i dont have any idea about the charges... moreover is it necessary to have a students ID???
kin

Old Jan 30th, 2001, 05:53 PM
Thyra

To get into official hostels I believe you need a Youth Hostel ID, but the reason you need a student ID is for all the wonderful discounts you get when going to see sights, castles museums and such.
You don't have to be a "student" to stay in an hostel, but some have age limits (some don't)and curfews.
They are typical dormatory style rooms, but if you want to know, for example, where the clubs are or the local music pub scene these places are invaluable. All the technical stuff, about hostelling etc. is in Let's Go.

Old Jan 30th, 2001, 05:55 PM
Thyra