Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Greece - Athens/Peloponnese itinerary late Sept/Oct

Old Aug 3rd, 2016, 08:12 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi there, my husband and I and our one year old baby are going to Greece from September 29-October 9, so a total of 10 nights. We would like to do a couple days in Athens and the rest of the time going around the Peloponnese. This is my first attempt at an itinerary and I would love any feedback:

September 29 - Athens
September 30 - Athens
October 1 - Olympia
October 2 - Kardamyli
October 3 - Kardamyli
October 4 - Kardamyli
October 5 - Monemvasia
October 6 - Monemvasia
October 7 - Nafplion (visit Mycenae/Epidavros)
October 8 - Athens

It's tough to move around constantly with a baby so we can't do a different place every night. Does this itinerary make sense? What changes would you recommend? I think Athens to Olympia is our longest drive so would also love any ideas on places to stop along the way. Thanks!
Old Aug 3rd, 2016, 08:53 AM

What do you want in Kardamyli? A very small village, gravel beaches, and pretty far away from highways and attractions. (I think you mean Kardamyli on Mani peninsula, south of Kalamata.)
Old Aug 3rd, 2016, 09:28 AM
Original Poster

I read it's pretty and relaxing and yes we would explore the Mani peninsula from there but absolutely open to different suggestions!
Old Aug 4th, 2016, 05:47 AM

I might be tempted to drop one night from Monemvassia and add it to Nafplio. There is so much to see in and around Nafplio while Monemvassia while a great experience is essentially a one trick pony.
Nafplio and Peloponnese http://www.flickr.com/photos/stanbr5...7632094108982/
Old Aug 4th, 2016, 07:45 AM

A "one trick pony" - I like this wording, and you are right.

lrm83, you are focussing on very remote places. I am not sure if Kardamyli is the right place for three full days. Be aware that the tiny mountain roads in the area are very slow.