gondola ride in Venice

Old Mar 12th, 2006, 10:20 AM
Original Poster

gondola ride in Venice

My husband, my parents and I will be visiting Venice in May we will be there 2 nights, I would like to get some information on the gondola rides.
Is there a set price per person or per ride, what time of the day is better and also where should we start our ride. This is my first time there and have no idea where to start. If there is other information you would like to share I will appreciate it.

thank you

Old Mar 12th, 2006, 11:19 AM

You can negotiate directly with the gondolier. It will depend on the length of the trip, if it is at night or day, and if your gondolier is friendly, (singing, talking, joking). Definitely wait until you see someone smiling and joking and then approach. The last thing you want to pay good money for is a cranky gondolier. Most are wonderful but I've seen a few cranky ones! I would say for 4 people, for a daytime trip of 30-45 minutes, you should expect to pay at least $100 euro. (that is for everyone, not person). The night time trips are more costly, but not that much, and it really is magical to ride the canals at night. IMHO!
Old Mar 12th, 2006, 11:22 AM

I both love the idea of a gondola ride and am both, at the same time fearful.

What the heck lives in that water???

Try and find a gondolier who sings....it sounds sooo beautiful!
Old Mar 12th, 2006, 11:31 AM

For the best prices, I would think you should get away from San Marco. You can find gondoliers in other places, too, although I can't be more specific as I have never been in a gondola. You can also visit the workshop in Dorsoduro, which is interesting. I believe there is an American who is one of the gondola makers in the city now.
Old Mar 12th, 2006, 11:36 AM

When in Venice....you gotta do a gondola ride. It is required.