Getting to Sarlat sans car

Old Jun 27th, 2009, 01:00 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Getting to Sarlat sans car

I am staying in Aix-en-Provence, and after making reservations for 3 nights at a hotel in Sarlat, discovered that I cannot go by train from Aix to Sarlat. I could leave Marseille at 7 in the morning for a 9-hour, three-train ride, but I'm thinking there must be another way. Connection from another city in the south of France? A bus? Please help~ I have about 2 hours before I can cancel my reservation without penalty. Thanks~!
Old Jun 27th, 2009, 01:07 PM

lily;

Tough one here. I drove

Have you looked into a flight from Marseille to Limoges (might have to leave from nice), or Bergerac (don't think there are direct flights) or even Bordeaux, and then a train?

That is all I can think of outside of your bus option, of which I have no knowledge - sorry.
Old Jun 27th, 2009, 02:42 PM
ira

Hi Lil,

www.bahn.de shows that you can get from Aix to Souillac or Brive la Gaillard is about 7 hr by train.
There is a shuttle - twice daily from Souillac. I don't know about buses from Brive.

www.viamichelin.com says it is about 6 hr by car.
Old Jun 27th, 2009, 09:47 PM

You can do it, but not easily. The date I looked at on http://www.voyages-sncf.com/ there was a train about 6 a.m. As you say, several changes - Marseille, Montauban, then to Souillac, where you can either take a long taxi to Sarlat, or the shuttle - which usually goes more than once a day - it tends to meet the trains coming north and south. That will take you into the centre of Sarlat.

The other option of course is to rent a a car, and drive yourself there. You will need one to get around the Dordogne, assuming you want to spend a little time outside Sarlat. There is very little public transportation here. And it would be a shame to miss seeing some chateaux, villages, markets, etc.
Old Jun 28th, 2009, 03:32 AM