Search

Getting Around in Woodbridge?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 2nd, 2017, 06:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Getting Around in Woodbridge?

Hello,

I just learned about the Maverick Music Festival in Easton Farm Park, Woodbridge at the end of June, which is when my husband and I are planning vacation. We'd started to plan something else but hadn't booked anything yet and are intrigued by this.

We've from the U.S. and have never been outside of London in the UK, and neither of us feels comfortable about driving on the opposite side than we're used to; I'm an uncomfortable driver even here at home.

I see that we can easily take a train from London to Woodbridge, but would there be a way for us to get to and from the music festival, assuming we find lodging relatively nearby, without a car, or would a car be a must? Or, would a car also be a must for seeing what's worth seeing in the area (I realize that "worth seeing" is subjective so just go according to your own sensibilities)? Would we be able to get to the coast by bus or taxi?

Thanks for any help.
Old Apr 2nd, 2017, 06:35 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
The venue is a farm out in the country -- about 10 miles from the station in Woodbridge so you'd pretty much have to take a taxi. Trains hit the coast in places like Ipswich and Lowestoft but having a car would make exploring much easier. It isn't hard to drive -- maybe takes an hour or two to acclimate, after that is is just driving.

I'd rent a car
Old Apr 2nd, 2017, 10:37 PM

Rural music festivals assume you do one of three things:
- bring your own caravan or other motorised accommodation onsite
- camp on site, either with your own kit or renting something from the range of camping facilities the festival provides
- stay offsite, driving in daily.

A handful are in locations close enough to walk into from B&Bs: Maverick isn't one of them.